Not Cold play. Good play!
Not Cold play. Good play!

I have finally found just one interesting thing about Chris Martin from the group Cold Play…

We in Ireland, and our neighbour’s in the UK, must now forgo an hours sleep this Sunday as we ‘Spring forward’ our clocks by one hour from 1am on Sunday morning.

And…wait for it..we have Chris Martin’s great-great grandad to thank for it!  Ha, ‘Clocks’ I get it!

Yes it was none other than the ‘bland-one’s’ ancestor Wiliam Willett that came up with the suggestion.

Why?

He figured that we were wasting too many daylight hours in summer as we slept through the first few hours in the mornings. So he proposed moving the clocks forward in March to make better use of the light provided by the great big yellow ball in the sky.

Not a bad idea I suggest. Why then did those in  authority wait until a year after he died before making it so?

Ah well, thanks for the longer days anyway!

Now about your Great, great grandson…

Disclaimer: I can’t speak for all music lovers in Ireland, it’s my personal opinion that Cold Play suck. But I did see them live and I’m sure I speak for a fair few 😛

 

 

