1-IMG_5245

If you think we don’t need Superhero’s …look away now!

So take a wall in a city in Ireland, paint it white, then paint it black, then paint it super. Instead of turning the corner and meeting a wall of pointless graffiti by thugs, the kids of this street are treated to an assembly of superheros.

Iron Man in Ireland2day is that person who stands tall in the face of adversity.
Iron Man in Ireland2day is that person who stands tall in the face of adversity.

This is a place where the kids don’t have many ‘Superhero’s’ to look up to.  They look to football greats and movie heroes. There may be political references in the background, but they’re not the main focus.

You wouldn't like me when I'm angry!
You wouldn’t like me when I’m angry!

 

To think that these artists are mostly unemployed is despicable. So talented. So wasted. But we can enjoy their talent nonetheless.

Lurking in the shadows!
Lurking in the shadows!

The art around the cities and towns of Northern Ireland make the place unique. You don’t get this in the Republic of Ireland. You will most likely see murals of the ‘Virgin Mary’ .

1-IMG_5248-001

Get up stand up, don’t give up the fight! Ireland still wants to assert itself on the global relevance chart. But alas, we are small in our influence.

Women in ireland2day aim high...and usually get there!
Women in ireland2day aim high…and usually get there!

 

A ‘Wonder Woman’ in Ireland is pretty-much any woman who puts up with us men. We can be hard work.

But hey,  you can’t have it too easy all the time!

If you visit Belfast I highly recommend the ‘Black Taxi’ tour of the murals in the city. It will give a sense of history but I hope that it also shows that we can move on from the dark days of the past.

Maybe I will do a post on the political murals at some stage if you guys want me too. They are very impressive but I just fear that it may paint a different picture to the one that I’m trying to create with my blog?

steVe

 

 

 

 

 

