Alone by choice? This would-be Water Buffalo seemed a bit confused.
Alone by choice? This would-be Water Buffalo seemed a bit confused.

Well that was a bit different. As one who enjoys his own company on his daily travels I found it slightly exhausting having a co-pilot for the past week or so. Yes the road was the same, the views as spectacular, the radio stations blasted out their tunes as usual, but having to converse with another human being for hours is quite the task I fear.

Yes put me in front of my lap top and I can converse to the world, but those moments of silence with a stranger only two feet away can be awkward. Not for me really, I can easily sit in someone’s company without feeling the need to break silence. But you are always worried about the other person aren’t you?

Anyway this work colleague was pleasant and really seemed taken back by the distance I had to travel each week in comparison to her daily grind over in England. She noticed the lack of traffic and the beautiful scenery as particular points of difference between the two countries. Although I know England also has wonderful locations to discover.

I even managed to gather up a few of ‘my’ lunch time views for her enjoyment. She was amazed how turning one corner could bring you into an extraordinary change of surroundings.

Lunch time view- West Coast Ireland - Not quite North America...but close.
Lunch time view- West Coast Ireland – Not quite North America…but close.

Anyway, the week brought us as far west as we could go without actually reaching Newfoundland. The unseasonably warm weather was a welcome bonus for the road trip.

Now off to England with you…I have more solo travels to take in again!

steVe

 

 

